Caffeine, Friend or Foe? {12/2/12 Workout}

I hear people all the time say “I really should quit drinking coffee. I know it’s bad for me.”

But is it really? For me, sometimes a little lot of caffeine in the form of a skinny mocha or crystal lite energy is the only think that gets me out of bed and to class in the morning and then to the gym in the afternoon. I don’t think going to class and the gym is bad for me; in fact, I think not going would be very bad for me. In my opinion, anything that can help me get to class, get to the gym, and complete anything else on my to-do list is not only good, but awesome!

And hey, coffee even has lots of antioxidants! Just don’t pour on the sugar and cream. And yes, more than 3-4 cups is probably bad, especially if you’re prone to high blood pressure. And yes, its a diuretic, so you have to compensate with even more water. And no, I’m not a doctor — so obviously take their advice first. But for me at least, caffeine (in moderation) is my friend!

On that note, I got up this morning and downed a few crystal lite energy packets in several tall glasses of water in addition to a couple of glasses of plain water. And voila! Presto! My energy is back!

What do you think? Is caffeine your friend or foe?

My workout:

  • 35 minutes on StairMaster (~170 floors)
  • 25 minutes on Cybex elliptical
  • Hot tub relaxation with my cousin and workout partner!

 

12 thoughts on “Caffeine, Friend or Foe? {12/2/12 Workout}

  1. Friend! Not only do studies indicate in can increase your reps or weights but I love my chocolate covered coffee beans-1 or 2 before a workout and I feel alive! 😉

  2. I find a lot of people throw the baby with the bathwater. Caffeine can be great stimulant to get you going. For some reason coffee tends to be always right beside bad lifestyle choices like staying up late, smoking, and excessive sugars. Coffee itself is great.

    On a side note, you can always have too much. I used to know people who drank more then 6 cups a day. It always made me think of this Jim Carrey scene http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gXXxdvvsGp0

    Personally I find tea tastes better though.

Leave a Reply

