Cleansing {11/26/12 Workout}

Today, by brain was not happy with the idea of returning to school after a fun week off. In fact, it pretty much decided to take the day off — you know those days where no matter how hard you think, your brain just can’t seem to catch up with your mouth? This was my reality this morning as I gave a final presentation.

It was not the worst of my life, but it wasn’t good. On my walk home from school my brain finally decided to turn on and obsess over every stutter, everything I could have worded better.

When I got home, I distracted myself with de-cluttering and packing. My number one goal right now is to move into our new apartment with as little clutter as possible. I filled one box (for Goodwill) and two garbage bags (for garbage) today after going through my bathroom alone! I felt so guilty throwing away so many half-used products, but after not touching them for months/years, I figured it was time to let go. Next time I want to buy makeup, or shampoo, or lotion, will someone please stop me?! I could have used that money for some fun adventures! Oh well, you live and learn. I think my new lifestyle should quality minimalism. Note to self: only buy quality stuff that you really love, instead of a whole bunch of really cheap stuff that clutters your life. 🙂

I had to put a hold on the cleaning frenzy when my 3:30 workout date rolled around. After a cortisol-filled morning, it felt so good to let the stress wash away with each rotation of the elliptical, with each heave of the weight.

So today, I cleansed my spirit with some literal throwing away of junk, and with a wonderful workout. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel — the clean new apartment and my uncovered muscles!

My Cardio, Arms, & Shoulder Workout:

  • 15 minutes Cybex elliptical
  • Shoulder warm-up with very light weight
  • Overhead Press – 3 x 12-15
  • Front/Lateral Raise  – 3 x 10
  • Barbell Upright Row  – 3 x 12-15
  • Bent-Over Lateral Raise  – 3 x 12-15
  • Dumbbell curl  – 3 x 12-15
  • Tricep Pressdown (straight bar attachment)  – 3 x 12-15
  • Barbell Curl  – 3 x 12-15
  • Overhead Tricep Press (double rope attachment)  – 3 x 12-15
  • 30 minutes spinning
  • 15 minutes Cybex elliptical

Hope your return to work/school today wasn’t too jarring after the Thanksgiving Holiday. Now it’s time for the final 3-week push before Christmas break (and the big move)! Eyes on the prize!

4 thoughts on “Cleansing {11/26/12 Workout}

  1. Your blog is awesome! I love getting inspired by others when it comes to diet and exercise ! I look forward to reading more ! I nominated you for the Liebster blog award.. check out the details on my page.. BlendTousleTease.com 🙂

    KK

Leave a Reply

