Gettin’ my fix 11/18/12

I think I’m addicted to cardio and endorphins in general. I had a forced rest day yesterday — we got a flat tire on our way to visit my parents, and by the time we finally arrived at my Dad’s house, the YMCA was closed,  it was pouring rain and freezing outside and it was kind of late. As you may know, the day before that I did a home chest and back workout, but no cardio.

Today I woke up with a terrible sore throat and heart burn (something I have never experienced before, and now I have serious empathy for people who suffer from it chronically). Even though I felt cruddy, I was still healthy enough for a workout, and I knew I would feel worse if I let myself go three days without cardio. I’m a junkie.

So my dad, my husband and I made our way to the gym. All in all, I survived 1.5 hours of leg weights, and 1 hour on the elliptical. The leg weights exasperated my acid reflux, but 20 minutes into the cardio, I was feeling naturally high. I still feel sick, but at least I feel happy and sick. Ha!

My leg workout:

  • Steps ups, 3×40
  • Leg raise on exercise ball, 3×20
  • Squats with barbell, 3×12
  • Sumo squats with barbell, 3×12
  • Calf raise, 3×12
  • Jumping split squat, 3×20
  • Weighted bulgarian split squat, 3×15
  • Single-leg deadlift, 3×15
  • Leg curl, 3×12
  • Leg extension, 3×12
  • Ab/adductions, 3×12

60 min elliptical, working at ~ 75% max HR.

After the workout we refueled with a Reeses protein milkshake. Yummy & soothing on my sore throat.

How was your day?

 

Leave a Reply

