Workout Log 11/14/12

Today was arm and shoulder day with some abs at the end. I love arm

40 minutes on the StairMaster!

day.Wait – just yesterday didn’t I say I love leg day? Yes I did. I love leg day because it’s non-stop intensity. I love arm day because I give myself a little more rest in between sets. I like the balance, you see?  Oh, and I love working abs because it hurts so good! I just all-around love training.

Onto the workout!

5 min warm-up on spinning bike

Shoulders

  • Warm-up: 1 set of very light weight shoulder press, lateral raise, front raise

3 sets each of the following with enough weight that 12-15 reps causes near-failure:

  • Dumbbell shoulder press – drop set!
  • Lateral/front raise combo
  • Barbell upright row
  • Single-arm  shoulder press machine, backwards then forwards
  • Tricep push-down machine (this could be in the tricep section, but I arranged it in a superset with a shoulder exercise)
  • Revers pec dec
  • Bent-over lateral raise

Biceps & Triceps

3 sets each of the following with enough weight that 12-15 reps causes near-failure:

  • Narrow grip barbell curl
  • Tricep pulldown (with straight bar)
  • Alternating dumbbell curl
  • Overhead tricep extension (with double rope)
  • Supergirl curl
  • Single-arm reverse-grip tricep pulldown (handle attachment)

Abs

2 sets of the following circuit, 15-20 reps

  • V-ups on bench
  • Core disc crunch
  • Core disc oblique crunch
  • Captain’s chair (with Bosu-ball back)

Cardio

  • 20 minutes of spinning (because all 3 StairMasters were occupied!)
  • 40 minutes on StairMaster!

Once a month at our Student Rec center there is free body composition analysis. Today was the day. Last month I clocked in at 16.9%. I was very pleased with this number, but I’m working towards the goal of 16%. I really thought today would be the day; I’ve been busting my butt and I’ve lost a few pounds (not that my weight is a huge indication of my fitness).

I eagerly signed up first. I walked in and the trainer greeted me by saying “So, um, I’m gonna be honest… I’ve only done this on guys.” What? “So, um, is the measurement process any different for women?” Seriously? I had to explain to him the three measurement sites (thigh, supra-iliac crest, tricep), and even I don’t know them perfectly well, I only know as well as trainers have pinched me in the past. Nervously and gingerly, he attempted the measurements.

Body-fat measurements with calipers is actually slightly painful. To do it properly, you have to pinch your subject pretty good. He didn’t pinch down at all and measured me at 21.7% body fat. Oh, and he pinched closer to my belly button that by supra-iliac crest.

Oh well. I was a little let down, but hopefully I’ll get an experienced trainer next time and I’ll blow my goal away! I’ve even considered buying a pair of calipers to monitor my own progress. Has anyone tried this? Any product suggestions?

I’d love to hear what you did for exercise today!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Workout Log 11/14/12

  1. Great workout.
    Sorry about the nervous little dude! I had my body fat done back in August and it was at 30% exactly. I do not know where to get another free one done so I have thought about getting a pair of calipers myself. I just do not know if I could do it right, or if hubby could. My current goal is 25%. But i’d love to be the body fat you are at now!!! I’d be one lean mean girly machine.

    • If I find a good pair of calipers, I will let you know! I think I will ask my husband to do it. Even if he doesn’t measure it perfectly, I’m hoping he will do it consistently each time so that I can at least track trends. Fitness is a journey! It has taken me 2 years to go from 10 lbs overweight to 16.9% bodyfat. You already have the right attitude and habits, just keep at it and it will come.! 🙂

Leave a Reply

