Workout Log 11/13/12

Today was LEG DAY. I love leg day. When I work these big muscle groups, I really feel like I’m gettin’ somethin’ done.

Only two leg workouts ago, I started incorporating squats on the Smith machine into my

This just slips over the barbell and velcros shut.

routine. I used to always shy away from them because the barbell hurts my neck and our gym doesn’t seem to have barbell pads. I decided to get tough, though, and try them again. And after two workouts, I was again reminded of my neck pain. So I ordered this thingamagiggy on Amazon and I love it. Its like night and day. Instead of focusing on my crushed neck and shoulders, I can focus on form and really engaging my muscles. If your gym doesn’t have these and you are avoiding squats like me or you are just suffering through it, I highly recommend this!

Without further ado, here is today’s leg workout:

5 minute spinning warmup

Lower Body 

None: Two bullets together indicate a superset. I did three sets of each exercise, using enough weight that I was working nearly to failure at the 12-15 rep range.

  • Box jumps
  • Leg lift on exercise ball
  • Squat on smith machine
  • Jumping split squat
  • Sumo squat on smith machine
  • Leg press with calf raise finish
  • Weighted bulgarian split squat
  • Weighted single-leg deadlift
  • Leg extension – drop sets
  • Leg curl
  • ThighMaster (This is really the ab/adduction machine, but my cousin and I named it the ThighMaster for the magic it works in that area)

Cardio – Treadmill

  • 5 min warmup at 3.5 mph @ 5% incline
  • Repeat the following 7X:
  • 5 min – 3.0 mph @ 10% incline
  • 2 min – 4.0 mph @ 15% incline
  • 6 min cooldown at 3.0 mph at 5% incline to round out the hour

Side-note: I also walk about 4 miles/weekday just for daily life getting to and from campus and the gym. I don’t consider this a “workout,” because it doesn’t elevate my heart rate and it is something that I do more for enjoyment. I get very antsy and even depressed in the wintertime if I don’t get daily fresh air and sunshine.

Lifting took a little over an hour. As you can see, my routine right now consists entirely of superset training. I do this for the added cardio effect – and boy will this workout make you sweat! It’s harder for me to lean out that it is for me to gain muscle, so I like to burn extra calories whenever I can!

My actual cardio workout wasn’t very challenging today — more of a recovery after yesterday’s brutality. I kept my heart rate between 70-80% of my theoretical max heart rate of 220-age (although I know this “max” isn’t true because yesterday my heart rate soared over 200 bpm during peak intervals). I passed the time catching up on The Office on my iPod and laughing so loud that I got some funny looks. Oh well. Life is short! 🙂

I’d love to hear what you did for exercise today! Train hard!

8 thoughts on “Workout Log 11/13/12

  1. I love leg day. If I could do squats and deadlifts for the rest of my life I would be happy (and unbalanced). Be careful on the smith machine. The machine forces your body into an un-natural plane of motion and can wretch your back very badly.

    • That’s definitely something to consider; here I was thinking I’d be safer on the smith machine because I can’t drop the weight on myself, but I definitely felt the strain on my back. Next time I’m going to try them with a free weight. Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

