Crockpot Chicken – 2 Ways

Before I learned this recipe, the only way I knew how to cook chicken was on the bbq. But when cooking boneless skinless chicken breast this way, it’s bound to end up dry (at least with my current skills!).

Then one day I went to my cousin’s graduation party and my sweet aunt Jolene had made a delicious taco spread. I went through the line, and trying to keep it clean, I chose chicken over beef and topped it with salsa and veggies. I tasted the chicken, and it was flavorful and moist. So much for a low-fat option, this is way too good to be healthy. Wrong! I told my aunt how tasty the chicken was, and she eagerly shared her technique: Crockpot chicken! 

Here’s how ya do it:

  • Procure boneless skinless chicken breast (I love the unfrozen yet individually packaged breasts from Costco because they are convenient and don’t have a ton of salt/preservatives added)
  • Place as many chicken breasts as you like in your Crockpot (I believe mine is ~6 quarts). Try it out the first time to make sure you like it, but this recipe is great for leftovers!
  • Then decide if you want mexican style chicken for tacos or a nice italian flavored chicken to pair with pasta/rice and veggies. I love it both ways, but my favorite is Italian Style.

Mexican Style

6 frozen chicken breast (they are stuck together in pairs)

  • Add enough salsa (any kind you like!) until the bottom 2-3 inches of your chicken breasts are submerged.
  • That’s it!
  • Cook on low for about 6 hours (cooking time is for 6 large FROZEN breasts – or about 3 lbs)
  • OR cook on high for 3-4 hours

Italian Style

It turns out so moist!

  • Choose an italian dressing that you like. I love to use Ken’s Northern Italian with Basil and Romano. Again, pour enough in to cover the bottom 2-3 inches of your chicken breasts. For 6 large frozen breasts, this is about 1/2 a bottle.
  • If you are low on dressing, you can simply substitute some milk
  • Add additional flavorings as you please! I love to then dust my chicken with sea salt, red pepper flakes, Mrs. Dash Original, and garlic powder
  • Cook on low for about 6 hours (cooking time is for 6 large FROZEN breasts – or about 3 lbs)
  • OR cook on high for 3-4 hours

Cooking time may vary depending on your size of Crockpot, whether you use frozen or unfrozen chicken breasts, and the amount of chicken that you use. Feel free to experiment and make it your one! I have made this many different times with slight variation, and I haven’t managed to mess it up yet! Come home a few hours late? No problem! If you cook it on low, your chicken won’t dry out because of all the added liquid.

Give it a try and tell me how it goes for you!

4 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken – 2 Ways

  1. Thank you for your speediness with posting this!! Will give it a try and get back to you! Feel free to post your results on my blog-I want others to know there’s a lot of us out there doing this weekly, monthly, daily!!

    • You’re welcome! Blogging is a great way to spend morning down time and warm up my brain for class.

      That’s a great idea – feel free to share your results on mine as well. Let’s spread the word! What I want most out of blogging is to make healthy living approachable and show what hard work can do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

