Workout Log 11/12/12

Today I had an awesome workout with my cousin Lauren. I came across “Minka Kelly’s Treadmill workout” and thought it looked like “fun.” By fun, I mean more fun than zoning out doing steady-state cardio for 60 minutes, but not quite as fun as say, Christmas morning.

Here is the workout (with minor variation and extra walking at the end to round out the hour), plus the ab routine we did afterwards:

Cardio

This workout burned some serious calories!

5x through at 1% incline:

1min at 5.0

1min at 5.5

1min at 6.0

1min at 6.5

1min at 7.0

1min at 7.5

1min at 8.0

2 mins at 4.0

15 min 3.0 @ 10%

Abs

3x through circuit, reps to failure

Core Disk

Bench V-Ups

Plank with knee drive

Truthfully, I expected this workout to be challenging, but the  3 minutes at 7.0 mph, 7.5 mph, then 8.0 mph were a serious push for me today. After the first time through, I had serious doubts if I was going to make it through four more rounds. More than once I had thoughts like “Oh, it will still be a good workout if I cut out the minute at 8.0” or “Four times through should do it.” But I didn’t give in (well, I did immediately lower the prescribed “walking” speed from 4.5 to 4.0, because I felt like an awkward waddling out-of-breath duck at 4.5). Instead, I lengthened my stride and — don’t laugh — repeated this mantra over and over again in my head, louder and louder each round to block out all thoughts of pain or quitting, “Don’t forget that you are lucky to be in good health and able to run. Right this second, you are living your values and chasing your dreams.” I don’t even know where this thought came from, but I’m sure glad it popped into my mind. When we finished the fifth round, it felt awesome to high-five Lauren. Though we didn’t talk much during the run, but the camaraderie was invaluable.

After my workout, I was so excited to call my dad to tell him all about it and to challenge him to the very same workout. He took the challenge and one-upped me by increasing the speed for each interval by 1 mph. Rockin’ it out at 53 – go Daddy!

I came home to delicious Crockpot chicken. Perfect dinner with a side of steamed broccoli and cauliflower! Who doesn’t love dinners that make themselves and are ready when you are?

3 thoughts on “Workout Log 11/12/12

  1. Minka Kelly! Haven’t heard that name in a while. Thanks for the reminder:). Would you be able to post how you made the crock pot chicken?? How much/type to buy etc? I’m crock pot shy but know it’s a fantastic tool and need something easy to get started with!
    Good luck with body comp testing and I will be reporting in my blog on Friday with my results!! Great blog!

    • You got it, Arlene! It is really the easiest recipe I know! I hope you like it! 🙂

      I will report back on Wednesday about body comp. Good luck to you too, although we both know luck doesn’t have a ton to do with it – just hard work and clean eating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

