First unassisted pull-up!

 

Ever since I started weight training it has been my goal to complete one unassisted pull-up. Just one. Is that so much to ask? I’ve tried and tried often to no avail. But, as it turns out, hard work performed consistently over a long period of time is the answer toachieving just about everything in life. And that’s what I’ve been doing in the gym.

Today, I woke up with a throbbing headache but decided to hit the gym anyways for some chest and back training.

I surprised myself by completing not one, but two unassisted pull-ups in a row! It’s an amazing feeling to achieve something that you had to work hard and struggle for.

I finished chest and back training, although my head still ached throughout. That one small (but not so small to me!) achievement made it worth it! Is this another analogy to life? Push through because you never know when a small victory is just around the corner?

Throughout our spinning intervals afterwards, my headache eased and I felt a natural high coming on. By the end of my shower, I felt all better! I truly believe that it was the exercise that chased my headache away. And yet, it would have been so easy to use it as an excuse to skip the workout and laze around all day.

Why didn’t I? Is it that I have a will of steel? No, I think that dark chocolate I just ate would attest that I do not. Was it because my dad was visiting for Dad’s weekend, and I didn’t want to short-change him by training every body part but these over the weekend? Well, partly Dad 🙂 But really it was because I have “learned” the same lesson the hard way again and again until I really learned it: when I skip a workout for any reason short of complete and utter exhaustion or flu-like illness, I feel bad the whole day. Just bad. Lethargic. Lazy. Weak. Yet I almost never ever regret a workout. Exercise makes me feel energized, strong, confident, and happy! This lesson is the kind of lesson that seems impossible to learn until you learn it for yourself.

Here are some fun photos from the weekend:

 

6 thoughts on “First unassisted pull-up!

  1. This great post came along at the BEST time. Haven’t attempted an unassisted pull up yet but literally thought that tomorrow it was time. Thanks for the extra push and way to go yourself! Great post!

    • Thanks! I love to hear that my thoughts are encouraging. Your posts are always motivating to me! Can’t wait to hear how your next check-in with the Shapeshifter goes. At our gym, there is free body composition testing once a month, and Wednesday is the next day. Hope both of our check-ins go well! 🙂

  2. Pingback: First unassisted pull-up! « frankoshanko

Leave a Reply

