Chocolate Therapy

Gooey fudgey chocolately (healthy) goodness

Today, I got home from school feeling the need to bust out of  my routine. I felt the urge to either go to the mall or eat chocolate. The problem is, I am very serious about keeping on track with both my budget and nutrition.Both a shopping spree and a chocolate ice cream binge would have negative emotional consequences. What to do?

To get my mind off of chocolate and shopping, I began browsing Pinterest for some to-go recipes to take on a hike tomorrow. I stumbled across this. A healthy chocolate brownie recipe to occupy my time, satisfy my sweet tooth, and give me something to blog about (which can be thrilling in itself). I am calling the whole experience Chocolate Therapy.

Chocolate therapy is a combination of the act of crafting a healthy treat and the taste of high-quality dark chocolate.  It simply does the soul good.

Here’s my prescription for chocolate therapy: Healthy fudge brownies.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup (extra dark) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup Splenda
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 2 tbs almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips

Instructions

  • Combine all ingredients with a hand mixer
  • Spray 5×7 glass pan with cooking spray
  • Bake at 325 for ~19 minutes
  • Enjoy your healthy, fudgey, gooey treat at about 100 calories each (makes 8 servings)
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Therapy

Leave a Reply

