Fluffy 100% Whole Wheat Bread

I bought a like-new breadmaker for $10 at a yardsale last weekend, and I love it! If you’re interested this is the model I got. So far, I’ve made two loaves; the first loaf turned out good and the second loaf turned out great.

My ultimate bread-making goal is to recreate Dave’s Killer Bread (with all of its seedy glory) at home. My first obstacle was: how to make 100% whole wheat bread rise enough when I can’t find 100% whole wheat flour? The answer, I learned by experimenting between the first and second loaf, was more vital wheat gluten. It seemed counter-intuitive to me at first that adding more gluten to make the dough stiffer would actually help it rise more, but it’s true! The stiffness helps it maintain its “risen” form (well now it sounds like I’m talking about Jesus, not bread).

I added several types of nuts/seeds, and they were good, but I’m not quite up to Dave’s caliber of seed combination just yet, but I’m going to keep trying!

Okay, okay, without much more ado, here’s my recipe (inspired by a recipe on Pinterest, of course!):

My beautiful cousin, Ali, modeling the fluffy human-head-sized loaf of bread! 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups warm water
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 4 teaspoons canola oil or cooking oil
  • 2 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 8 teaspoons vital wheat gluten
  • 1/4 slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup seasame seed
  • 1/4 cup crushed walnuts
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 2 tablespoons flax seed
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast

Instructions

  • Add all ingredients to bread maker
  • I set it on “Whole Wheat” cycle and “medium” crust color
  • Let your bread maker do the work! 🙂

I estimate this recipe costs me about $1 per loaf, which is a huge savings compared to a loaf of Dave’s at about $4. So now that I’ve made two loaves, the $10 breadmaker has already paid for itself! The hubby even prefers fresh homemade bread over cereal in the mornings, so I might have some money-saving potential there too, without any sacrifice in flavor or health!

I had some extended family last night (first time I had accommodated 7 people in my little apartment!), and I had a fresh loaf ready when they got their (I LOVE the delay-time feature on the bread machine). Everyone seemed to enjoy the bread. I also served baked cheesy quinoa, roasted veggies, chicken, and chocolate chip pumpkin bars for dessert. I had good intentions of taking pictures of the quinoa to share, but I forgot as soon as more important things like eating crossed my mind. Next time!

One thought on “Fluffy 100% Whole Wheat Bread

  1. Wow! We were all so impressed with all of the food! The cheesy quinoa, amazing roasted vegetables, bread, chicken. Yummy! Now I’m well fueled for the football game today, recovered from the amazing golf experience! ( :

Leave a Reply

