No-Sugar-Added Treats For My Class

Today we had a last-day-of-class party in each of my two Honors writing classes. Everyday I sit in those classes eating my homemade lunches, unintentionally making the rest of the class envious. Today, I was excited to share with them some healthy and yummy treats! I wanted to bring a nice fresh fruit and vegetable tray, because one of the things I snack on nearly everyday in class in my 11-cup pyrex full of various vegetables, but a lack of extra cash directed me to my pantry stocked full of nonperishable baking goods. For my Writing The Short Story class, I brought no-bake chocolate peanut butter/almond butter cookie dough bites, and for my Writing Your Heritage class, I brought my trusty oatmeal chocolate chip muffins.

I meant to bake everything last night, but I was exhausted and still not in a great mood. I set my alarm this morning for earlier than usual to bake; when I woke up with a headache, I almost  said “To hell with it,” but I’m glad that instead I popped some Midol and pulled out the baking supplies.

Last night I actually had a nightmare that my food processor shattered into tiny pieces, and I have a vague memory of waking up teary-eyed after this dream…. I was very happy to find it in-tact and ready for use this morning!

The chocolate-chip oatmeal muffin recipe was my first ever blog post, and the class devoured them!
I found the no-bake chocolate nut-butter cookie dough recipe on one of my favorite dessert blogs, Chocolate Covered Katie. The recipe is insanely quick and easy, but you do need a food processor to make it. I quadrupled the recipe on Katie’s blog, which made about 30 cookie balls (just enough to feed my class).

The ONE muffin that exploded while taking them out of the pan; obviously I had to eat it!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup Adam’s peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup fresh-ground almond butter
  • 1 cup raisins
  • She added a pinch of salt (I forgot this, but I suspect it would be good!)
  • 8 tbs walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 tbs cocoa powder
  • As many white chocolate chips (or dark chocolate chips) as you like!

Instructions

  • Throw everything in the food processor and watch it do it’s magic!
  • Roll into ping-pong sized balls
  • Pop into the refrigerator or freezer until ready to serve
  • Ask your husband to clean up your kitchen mess!

Just for laughs, my embarrassing moment-of-the-day: The whole class was eating their treats & chatting away, when my friend (who is also in my anatomy class) leaned over and asked me about the pelvic diaphragm. She was confusing it with the diaphragm that is right below the thorax, so I stood up and said “No, you PELVIC diaphragm” while pointing to my crotch. The entire class looked at me a little horrified. We then proceeded to explain that we were just discussing reproductive anatomy for class.. which in hindsight probably didn’t help matters. My friend and I just about died of embarrassment and I almost peed my pants laughing!

3 thoughts on “No-Sugar-Added Treats For My Class

    • Truly! I distinctly remember wailing in my dream the moment that the food-processor bowl hit the floor and shattered like it was glass. I usually don’t remember my dreams, either. I guess I’m just very attached to my kitchen appliances! 🙂

Leave a Reply

