This, Too, Shall Pass

Today has been one hard day. I had diarrhea this morning (sorry if that’s TMI), and I felt 100+ eyes bore into me as I walked into class 10 minutes late. Also, I had an interview for a $1,700 leadership scholarship that could have gone way better. And the magnitude of these hardships was amplified 10-fold by PMS (again, really sorry if that is TMI!).

I got home from my interview feeling pretty darn defeated. I tried having my favorite snack. I tried watching my favorite TV show. I tried taking a hot bath. I still felt crappy. Finally, I got on my computer and stumbled across an uplifting quote on Pinterest; this uplifting quote led me to find another, and another, and before I knew it my mood was uplifted! Just goes to show the power of positive thinking!

Below are a few of the quotes that lifted me up, hopefully they will lift you up, too 🙂

“This, too, shall pass. When things are bad remember: it won’t always be this way. Take one day at a time. When things are good, remember: it won’t always bet his way. Enjoy every great moment”.

“Every day may not be good, but there is something good in every day.”

“Your body hears everything your mind says. Stay positive.”

“Never regret. If its good, it’s wonderful. If it’s bad, it’s experience.”

“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.”

“There is really no way we can know the heart, intentions, or the circumstances of someone who might say or do something we find reason to citicize. Thus, judge not.”

“In the end, the number of prayers we say may contribute to our happiness, but the number of prayers we answer may be of even greater importance.”

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway. If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway. If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anway. The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway. Give the world the best you have it it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.”

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.”

“The happiest people do not have the best of everything. They make the best of everything they have.”

“Live in such a way that if anyone should speak badly of you, no one would believe it.”

“Most people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.”

“Before you speak, THINK. T = is it true? H= is it helpful? I= is it inspiring? N = is it necessary? K= is it kind?”

“An old cherokee told his grandson: ‘My son, there’s a battle between two wolves inside us all. One is evil. It’s anger, jealously, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies and ego. The other is good. It’s joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, and truth.’ The boy thought about it and asked: ‘Grandfather, which wolf wins?’ The old man quietly replied: ‘The one you feed.'”

Now that these inspirations have put an end to my pity-party, I’m going to go work off all of the cortisol in my system at the gym!

 

4 thoughts on “This, Too, Shall Pass

  1. Sounds good! See I would have probably thought chocolate first before I went looking for inspirational thoughts. Good for you. And btw, my condolences regarding the (with heavy Latin accent) Diarrhea.

    • I did have a guilt-free piece of dark chocolate when I got home from class mid-day, and then I took a nap before my interview. Normally a nap and chocolate would do the trick, but they were no match for today’s challenges! I had to break out the big guns (positive quotes, blogging, and off to a workout soon)!

  2. love. “remember it won’t always be this way” and “….feed the right wolf.” Most people can relate to bad days like this one- I hope next time I’m feeling down I remember to take a tip from you…

Leave a Reply

