I Didn’t Wear Makeup Today And The World Didn’t End

ย 

Me, only make-up free

I am a girly-girl by all definitions. I own more dresses than I do pants, I feel prettier in high heels, and I never leave the house without doing my makeup.

This morning I woke up to a thunderstorm and heavy rain. I considered curling my hair, but then I thought, “ugh, what’s the point of doing my hair if it’s still going to look crazy by the end of the day?” So I didn’t. I tamed my bangs and pulled the rest into a pony. Per my usual routine, I proceeded to apply concealer, powder, and blush, but right as I was about to put on eye makeup, I took a good hard look at myself in the mirror. My eyes are big and bright, why do I have cover them in eyeliner and mascara every day? So I went with the pony-tail-laid-back theme and skipped the eye make-up.

And you know what? I felt exactly the same throughout the day. When I looked in the mirror, I still liked what I saw, because I know I have built a healthy body through clean-eating and exercise.

I’m not a no-makeup convert by any means; I still love me some long lashes. But I just thought I’d remind everyone that when we take care of our bodies, we allow our natural beauty to shine from the inside out.

6 thoughts on “I Didn’t Wear Makeup Today And The World Didn’t End

  1. A great skin care routine will make you more confident to go foundation-free year-round, but I love being sans makeup in the summer… so fresh and natural!

    • It’s true a great skin care routine makes a huge difference. I have crazy acne-prone skin though, and I am uber-religous about taking care of my skin, but even on my best days I still have several blemishes. But, I’ve found some concealers and foundations that I love and that don’t make my acne worse, so it’s all good!

      I love the summer, too. A nice tan can do wonders for evening out a complexion ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love your new blog! Today’s post was funny. I have the opposite, yet same experience. I only wear make-up twice a year and I feel pretty all of the time. Both au’natural and with make-up.

    Also, I thought I heard about a study that showed that pregnant women who wore lots of make-up had a higher chance of having male children with testicles that were underdeveloped and more likely not descend properly. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Studies are funny!

Leave a Reply

