Eating Clean and Fit-Girl Snacks

After losing 30+ pounds, people ask me how I did it and what I eat. Well, I actually eat a lot, a lot of Clean food. In a nutshell, Clean Eating is eating minimally processed foods free of added sugar and saturated fats. What I do eat is a ton of nutrient-dense foods like fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean protein, and healthy fats. I used to think nutrient-dense meant containing a lot of calories, but it actually means that it contains the most good things like vitamins and minerals for the least amount of calories. Clean Eating also involves eating 5-6 times per day at about 3 hour intervals. At each of these meals, a source of (preferably lean) protein should be consumed. Clean Eating does not involve counting calories, but works because it involves adhering to sensible portion sizes; for example, a serving of protein is about the size of your palm (a hulking man would have a larger palm and serving size than a petite woman) and a serving size of veggies is two cupped hands. This way of eating frequent low-glycemic load meals keeps insulin levels relatively steady, and steady insulin levels means our cells will be happier to burn fat rather than store it! Steady insulin, happy cells, healthy body!

More specifically, what do I eat? Well, today was busy and wasn’t one of my shining Clean Eating days, but I did okay. I started the day off right with 2 of my protein and dark chocolate enhanced oatmeal muffins (from last post) and 1 kiwi and about a cup of strawberries.

When lunchtime rolled around, I noticed a couple of lonely avocados and jalapenos in my kitchen that needed to be eaten soon, so I made guacamole.

Guacamole Recipe:

Mix 2 avocads, 1/2 jalapeno, and about a cup of salsa (I used Pace Picante Medium) in a bowl.

Once I had the guacamole, I realized I needed something to dip in it. I don’t keep chips in the house, but I did remember that I had some sprouted-grain Ezekial tortillas in the freezer that also needed to be eaten soon. Perfect! I broke the frozen tortillas into chip-size pieces and placed them on a cookie sheet that I sprayed with olive oil and then baked at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

While the chips were baking I thought, “Well, now I’m going to have a lot of chips, I’m going to need more dip!” and I had been meaning to make hummus for awhile (and had already bought all the ingredients in anticipation for it), so I whipped up a batch in my handy-dandy food processor. It only took minutes! You can find the hummus recipe here, which I found on Pinterest.

I had a serving each of chips, guacamole, hummus, and some baby carrots for a hearty lunch.

Lunch: Guacamole, hummus, tortilla chips, and baby carrots.

When I was hungry for an afternoon snack, I made one of my new favorite snacks: Peanut butter yogurt dip! This snack is for the peanut-butter lovers of the world who just can’t stop at 2 tablespoons, but would rather have a whole cup of the stuff to dip apples, carrots, etc. into. To make, mix together:

  • 1 small tub of plain (not flavored, or you’re getting added sugar and spiking your blood sugar and insulin levels = bad!) 0% greek yogurt
  • A few tablespoons of Splenda
  • 3 tablespoons of pure peanut butter (I used Adams, but fresh-ground is even better! Just make sure there are no additives like sugar or palm oil)

This makes 2 big servings, with which I paired 1 apple and a serving of baby carrots for dipping. I also had a serving of dried edamame mixed with dried wasabi-coated peas, which is my second-favorite snack! I love dried edamame because it has 13g of protein and 7g of fiber per serving!

I loved this meal so much, I had the other half of the dip with carrots and apple again for dinner. I also had 2 more muffins and half a cantaloupe with dinner.

Okay, so I had carrots 3 times today and ate way more fruit than veggies… Not my best veggie day, and I should be ashamed when I have broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, and green beans in the fridge, but I was busy and my belly is happy nonetheless. I’ll do better tomorrow! How about you, did you have a veggie-licious day? What are some of your favorite  healthy snacks?

My favorite snack! Peanut butter yogurt dip and a mix of dried edamame and dried wasabi peas.

3 thoughts on “Eating Clean and Fit-Girl Snacks

  1. Nice post Annie! I love how much better I feel when I remember to incorporate protein in each of my snacks and meals. I’ve always loved the energy and good feelings I get from eating healthy fuels. It’s such an exciting way to live, especially when we get tasty treats like those amazing muffins and powerballs. Hey, now you will have to blog about powerballs! ( :

  2. Sounds like we both like a healthy snack 😀 I wish we had the variety of sprouted foods that you do in the US. But I’ve just placed an order for a dehydrator so that will help in the healthy snacks department. Thanks for visiting my blog yesterday. Congratulations on your weight loss.

    • Yes, I do love snacks! And I feel very lucky when I go to the grocery stores and see all the healthy options available here — I wish everyone had the same options! You’ll have to do a post when you get your dehydrator 🙂 I enjoyed visiting your blog, and thanks for visiting mine!

Leave a Reply

