Saturday Morning Baking

This morning, like every other morning I was greeted with a grumbling tummy. Most mornings I’ll have a piece of toast or oatmeal with fruit, but this morning I remembered that I had oatmeal muffin mix in the fridge that I made the night before. My muffin recipe was inspired by this recipe, as found on Pinterest (my new addiction.)

To make these delicious delights:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Most people would mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, but in my hungry haste, I usually just mix them all into the biggest bowl I own and let the handmixer do the rest of the work.

Chocolate muffins on top, mushy blueberry muffins on bottom

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups applesauce, unsweetened
  • 4 cups, Old Fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup vanilla whey protein powder OR 1 more cup of oats
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 2 3/4 cups milk (I used fat-free)
  • 1/3 cup flaxseed meal OR 1/3 cup chia seeds OR 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup stevia
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Optional: raisins, walnuts, chocolate chips (I use Ghiradelli mini-chocolate chips to make sure I get chocolate in every bite.

    Prettier blueberry muffins on top, chocolate muffin on bottom

Bake for 30 min, then enjoy!

Yields ~ 36 muffins at ~100 calories each, depending on the toppings.

As you can see , the chocolate muffins turned out much prettier than the blueberry muffins in the first batch. The problem was, I bought frozen blueberries and they accidentally got put in the fridge instead of the freezer, so when I went to use them, the berries were a wet mushy mess. Not wanting to waste them, I used them anyways, but it made the batter runny.The muffins didn’t hold together right, but they still tasted good and my husband was happy to eat the mistake. For the second batch, I added about a handful of oats to absorb the extra moisture and they turned out perfect. I ate two chocolate muffins and rounded out my breakfast with a hearty plateful of fruit.

Breakfast fruit

Later today, I am going to pick up my first Bountiful Basket, and I am super excited! Hopefully I’ll get plenty of produce that I know I like and some new stuff to try!

One thought on “Saturday Morning Baking

  1. Pingback: Sinless Reeses Milkshake & 11/15/12 Workout Log | fitnessaficionada

Leave a Reply

