A Pinteresting Challenge

I have developed the habit of browsing Pinterest each morning in the bath. I’m going to consider this a healthy habit (as opposed to a time-wasting habit) because it I’m guaranteed to start the day with laughter and smiles. Cuddling babies and/or kittens (or both!). Inspiring quotes. Funny pictures. And recipes. Oh the recipes!

Pinterest followers: I’m sorry for the 15 pumpkin recipes that I pinned today. Okay, no, I’m not sorry. Because I made one of the recipes tonight and it was delicious! Which brings me to my Pinteresting challenge: my goal is to make (and post!) at least one new recipe from Pinterest per week. I’d say I’m off to a pretty good start considering I made Quinoa Mac and Cheese yesterday (recipe to come) and Dark Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bars today.

Want to check out what I’m pinning?¬†Follow me!

Back to the pumpkin bars… I found the recipe¬†here. But because I hardly ever follow a recipe without substitutions, I will share my version below. The only added sugar it has is from the brown sugar Splenda blend and the dark chocolate chips, because added sugar is basically against my religion (ha!). And oh yeah, I tripled the original recipe because it only called for 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree and even the smallest can has 1.5 cups. You could always make a smaller batch and store the rest of the pumpkin puree, but I thought I’d just use it up and share the bars while tailgating for Cougar Football! You’re welcome Dad, Uncle Jim, Uncle Pat, Uncle Dick, Uncle Bill, Auntie Jolene, Auntie Jenni, Cousin Lauren, Cousin Ali, and Cousin Luke, and any other Erickson tailgaters because these babies turned out good! :)

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups pumpkin puree (one 16 oz can)
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 tbs canola oil
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tsp baking cocoa
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup Splenda brown sugar blend
  • 1 cup Splenda
  • 1 bag Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips

Instructions

  • Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix with a hand mixer.
  • Grease large baking pan, and add ~1/3 batter across bottom of pan (should be a thin layer)
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 min, until a fork comes out clean

2 thoughts on “A Pinteresting Challenge

  1. Pingback: Fluffy 100% Whole Wheat Bread | fitnessaficionada

Leave a Reply

